Movie Review: The Life of Pi

By | December 31, 2012

mrtlop

The last movie I’ve seen in 2012 was “The Life of Pi”. The story about a teenage boy who immigrated from India with his family and the animals of their zoo on board a Japanese ship heading to Montreal only to become lost at sea with the company of a tiger, a vicious Read more »

Movie Review: Jack Reacher

By | December 27, 2012

mrjr

A bloody shooting in the USA by a seemingly crazed and vengeful ex- army sniper had taken place at the beginning of the movie and less than 24 hours later the sniper was caught. When questioned regarding his shooting motives, he writes only one Read more »

Movie Review: The Imposter

By | September 12, 2012

I was waiting in my cinema seat in the UK waiting for The Dark Night Rises to start and the trailer for the movie “The Imposter” started playing. While watching the trailer I realized I wanted to see it very much especially since I knew it was based on a true story and therefore I did.

The Imposter is about a 13-years-old teenager from Texas named Nicholas Barclay who went missing in Read more »

Movie Review: Brave

By | September 5, 2012

When my husband dragged me to the cinema to watch Brave I had pursed my lips and decided that I would be having a bad time. But I had to Read more »

Movie Review: The Watch

By | September 4, 2012


I’m not sure if the movie was shown in Kuwait or not but I know if it ever does, it will be cut up like a shawerma sandwich. The latest Ben Stiller movie “The Watch” is about a group of men (Ben Stiller, Vince Vaughn, Jonah Hill, and Richard Ayoade) who live in a neighborhood and decided to form a neighborhood watch to catch the killer of a security guard in Costco where Ben Stiller works as a manager.

There are funny moments in this movie, and lots of “scenes” as well. Jonah Hill keeps getting thinner apparently and the killer they are trying to catch is, actually, a group of aliens of outer-space sent to take over the earth. Its the kind of movie with that draws a few laughs from you with an edge of lameness but you laugh and munch on your popcorn knowing very well that once its over, you will not be watching it again nor purchasing it on DVD. I still think Meet the Parents was Ben Stiller’s best movie and The Watch doesn’t come even close but if you are a fan of Ben Stiller or any of the other co-stars you might want to watch it and maybe  you’ll like it more than I did.

Movie Review: Chernobyl Diaries

By | July 3, 2012

Am I the only one who feels that all the movies are boring this summer? Are Hollywood writers out of ideas? Even abroad there is nothing to look forward to except Spiderman and a movie by Adam Sandler that won’t make it to Kuwait for sure.

We really wanted to go to the cinema and watch a movie last week but the choices weren’t that encouraging. We settled on Chernobyl Diaries. The story is about a group of American tourists travelling through Europe who go into an abandoned town which housed the workers of Chernobyl Nuclear Plant and has been deserted since the Chernobyl disaster in 1986 where people dropped everything and just left with minutes to spare. Only when the tourists are there, they learn that they are not alone.

Well, the movie is very predictable, nothing out of the new. The only thing that makes this movie interesting is the Chernobyl story and the abandoned town otherwise its like every other horror movie. Whenever the group think they found a way out, something goes awry and one of them dies. Yada Yada Yada.

Oh there are plenty of grotesque scenes and blood too. A daloo3a woman in the movie started crying loudly in the middle of the movie. Why she didn’t leave the movie and go cry outside instead of disturbing us all is beyond my comprehension. I don’t see myself buying this movie on DVD anytime soon, nothing worth watching again, but if you want to kill time being a little scared this is the movie to see.

Movie Review: Dream House

By | February 20, 2012

I’m not a fan of Daniel Craig.

I cannot stand him. Ever since he became the new James Bond he began irritating me even more. When I booked this movie I didn’t see who the lead actor was so when I sat in the chair and his face came up I was like “ohooo”.

Then the story started and putting aside my dislike for Mr. Craig’s it was really really good! At first I thought it was like every other horrorish movies and that I’ve ruined it by watching the trailer which gives away the plot -trailers reveal too much now a days- but to my surprise what the trailer has revealed and what I thought I had worked out was only the beginning.

You can feel the man’s happiness and bliss when he moves into a new house in the suburbs and out of the city. His daughters are so cute. His wife is renovating the place and he is writing his novel. A happy family. Then the threats and the bizarre happenings begins and you feel the man’s pain while he is trying to protect his family from harm. Its all he is got, his wife and those two lovely daughters.

In the end you really have to keep your tears down. Now this should have been a Denzel movie! If Denzel had acted in it I would have booked 4 shows one after the other and watched it again and again and again. Daniel Craig was fine though. Movie is still good. Definitely going on my DVD shelf when its out!

Movie Review: Real Steel

By | October 23, 2011

I want a robot :'(

I’ve always wanted one! I took four classes of Artificial Intelligence back in college, two were grad school classes, yet I still can’t build my own robot. Abi robot :'(

I’ve been wanting to watch Real Steel for so long but there was always something coming up. Last weekend I finally had the chance to watch it and it was so good I would watch it again and again in a heartbeat!

Its like a modern Rocky movie! Rocky being my favorite movie series of all time by the way. This movie was like a mix of Rocky d five when Rocky had to start paying attention to his son and Rocky four’s final fight between Rocky and Ivan Drago, only the fighters are robots which also reminded me of the lovely old cartoon sanshero! Its like Rocky using Jumaro to fight! Yes that’s it!

Not to mention the story line which is actually funny and entertaining. I don’t know why but up till the beginning of the movie I believe the actor was going to be Robert Downy Jr. but it turned out to be Hugh Jackman, even better!

Very good movie. I hope they make a sequel! In fact Butootee and I started thinking about the sequel story right after we got out of the movie: someone coming to claim the robot Atom as his and shining light on its origins or something. Keifna alafna :p

Highly recommended and definetly goining into my DVD collection once its out. I repeat: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED even if you are not a boxing sports fan.