Movie Review: The Hobbit The Battle of the Five Armies

By | December 14, 2014

mrthbo5a

If you know me personally or have been hanging around my blog for a while then you’d know that I’m a crazed LOTR and Hobbit fan and was looking so much towards the third and final movie of the Hobbit trilogy, and also the last Peter Jackson movie about Middle Earth. I’ve even set up a counter, an alarm reminder, and basically waiting, rather impatiently, for the movie to pick up where DOS have left off.  Read more »

Movie Review: Non-Stop

By | March 3, 2014

mrnsbln

I’m loving the latest movies starring Liam Neeson. Taken, Taken 2, and Unknown are all current favourites of mine and his latest, Non-stop, could perhaps be my absolute favourite of Liam Neeson to date!  Read more »

Movie Review: The Internship

By | August 15, 2013

mrtis

I’ve seen the trailer for this movie a while back and I knew it was one movie I really wanted to watch. Vince Vaughn and Owen Wilson are two salesmen who lose their jobs and they look everywhere but can only, and miraculously, secure an internship at the one and only Google. Having to compete against a herd of geeky genius seniors with zilch knowledge of how computers work, you know their internship would be one long interesting adventure.   Read more »

Movie Review: Man of Steel

By | June 16, 2013

miwfim-002

Superman was my favourite childhood superhero. I grew up watching Superman movies, one movie in particular the Superman III we watched over and over and over again whenever we had a meal. My father was a big Superman fan and he bought us all the VHS tapes except for Superman III which he recorded off KTV2 on our VHS video. After Christopher Reeve, no one could fill in his Superman shoes, and after watching Man of Steel, I personally believe no one can.  Read more »

Movie Review: Jack Reacher

By | December 27, 2012

mrjr

A bloody shooting in the USA by a seemingly crazed and vengeful ex- army sniper had taken place at the beginning of the movie and less than 24 hours later the sniper was caught. When questioned regarding his shooting motives, he writes only one Read more »

Brunch from Socrates Bakery

By | October 1, 2012

On Saturday I woke up pretty late and while trying to decided what to have for breakfast I remembered a conversation we had with friends over dinner on Thursday night discussing Socrates Bakery. I’ve wanted to try it for so long having heard many good things about it so I picked up the phone and Read more »

Book Review: The Doctor Will See You Now by Max Pemberton

By | September 23, 2012

Back in March I read and loved a book “Trust me, I’m a junior doctor” by a British medical doctor called Max Pemberton (post). I liked it so much I set out to find the other books written by the same author/doctor and yesterday I managed to Read more »

Movie Review: The Imposter

By | September 12, 2012

I was waiting in my cinema seat in the UK waiting for The Dark Night Rises to start and the trailer for the movie “The Imposter” started playing. While watching the trailer I realized I wanted to see it very much especially since I knew it was based on a true story and therefore I did.

The Imposter is about a 13-years-old teenager from Texas named Nicholas Barclay who went missing in Read more »

Book Review: Catch Me if You Can by Frank Abagnale & Stan Redding

By | September 11, 2012

Though not a Leonardo Di Caprio fan myself, I loved him performance and role in the 2002 movie “Catch Me if You Can”. I knew it was based on a true story and I’ve seen the movie many times but it never occurred to me that there actually is a book where the story originates from. Then one day I thought to myself that there might be, and of course there was, and of course I got it and couldn’t wait to read it.

Published in the year I was born, 1980, and became one of New York Times list best sellers, its mind blowing to be reading a 32 years old biography of a cheeky teenager who roamed the entire world and conned financial establishment for millions, posed as an airline pilot, a Pediatrics doctor, and a Harvard graduate lawyer, and retired to live in peace all before his 20th birthday!

Of course the book is way way better than the movie. Not because the adaptation was bad, but because there are so many details that cannot be fully incorporated on the screen. You have to read them to understand them and with many of his cons I found myself laughing out loud even though I knew what he did was wrong. 32 years on and the book is still a very interesting read. I only wish there was more of the book after Frank ran away the first time after being extradited back to the USA, his jailing sentence, and how he ended up working for the FBI and all that.

The book is highly recommended. If you loved the movie you would love the book and its quite a quick and entertaining read. Its available on Amazon (link).

Movie Review: Brave

By | September 5, 2012

When my husband dragged me to the cinema to watch Brave I had pursed my lips and decided that I would be having a bad time. But I had to Read more »

Breadtalk New Packaged Baked Goods

By | August 16, 2012

The other day during Tea after futoor time I received a bag from BreadTalk containing a selection of their new line of pre-packaged bakery treats be ready sold in Read more »

Movie Review: The Amazing Spider-Man

By | July 6, 2012

As a big Spider-man fan I’ve been waiting for movie four to come out for sometimes now. Then I learned that the fourth Spider-man movie is NOT the fourth movie in the original Spider-man series. Its a complete reboot of Spider-man on the big screen. Starting all over with all new actors.

I don’t really see why would they do that after three movies of Spider-man. Why the reboot? Why can’t Hollywood make up its mind and stick to something?  Or at least wait a while until they reintroduced the entire thing? Such as the case with Superman y3ni?

Anyway I couldn’t wait to see the movie. The best way, the modern way, to watch it is in 3D on an IMAX screen and so we did and I really enjoyed it. The new Spider-man stars Andrew Garfield as Spider-man instead of Toby Maguire. I like Garfield a lot but I personally think that Maguire was more suitable playing the geeky teenage outcast than  Garfield. Garfield is too cool for the role.

The movie is good, at some point I almost cried (near the end, with the cranes). I missed the angry editor from The Daily Bugle who hated Spider-man. I missed MJ but in this installment of Spider-man they are going with Peter Parker’s first love, Gwen, starring Emma Stone who is actually Garfield’s real life girlfriend. I also missed Harry Osbourne who is said to appear in the sequel of this movie. Aunt May is played by Oscar winning Sally Field! Didn’t see that one coming!

By sheer chance, I was watching Spider-man 1 on OSN and when it ended I went to watch The Amazing Spider-man. I have to say I prefer the first Spider-man triology so far but that doesn’t mean the new thing is not good. Its more modern, more sleek, and barely a repeat of the original. I can now finally buy the first triology as DVD as I was waiting for all 6 promised films to come out and wait out this new Spider-Man collection which I do hope will last more than 3 movies. Highly recommended especially in 3D Imax

Movie Review: Chernobyl Diaries

By | July 3, 2012

Am I the only one who feels that all the movies are boring this summer? Are Hollywood writers out of ideas? Even abroad there is nothing to look forward to except Spiderman and a movie by Adam Sandler that won’t make it to Kuwait for sure.

We really wanted to go to the cinema and watch a movie last week but the choices weren’t that encouraging. We settled on Chernobyl Diaries. The story is about a group of American tourists travelling through Europe who go into an abandoned town which housed the workers of Chernobyl Nuclear Plant and has been deserted since the Chernobyl disaster in 1986 where people dropped everything and just left with minutes to spare. Only when the tourists are there, they learn that they are not alone.

Well, the movie is very predictable, nothing out of the new. The only thing that makes this movie interesting is the Chernobyl story and the abandoned town otherwise its like every other horror movie. Whenever the group think they found a way out, something goes awry and one of them dies. Yada Yada Yada.

Oh there are plenty of grotesque scenes and blood too. A daloo3a woman in the movie started crying loudly in the middle of the movie. Why she didn’t leave the movie and go cry outside instead of disturbing us all is beyond my comprehension. I don’t see myself buying this movie on DVD anytime soon, nothing worth watching again, but if you want to kill time being a little scared this is the movie to see.

Things to Do in Dubai: Zaroob Restaurant

By | June 25, 2012

For the past year all I’ve been hearing from people who frequent Dubai was Zaroob and Zaroob. I’ve seen the pictures and I liked what I saw, a middle eastern eatery so funky you can spend hours looking at the different decor details and yet discover something new. Read more »

Book Review: Desperate in Dubai by Ameera Al Hakawati

By | June 18, 2012

The reputation of this book has made it all the way to Kuwait. The books name has always been in the back of my mind for some reason, only when news of it being banned earlier this year did I really cement its title in my Read more »

Movie Review: Dream House

By | February 20, 2012

I’m not a fan of Daniel Craig.

I cannot stand him. Ever since he became the new James Bond he began irritating me even more. When I booked this movie I didn’t see who the lead actor was so when I sat in the chair and his face came up I was like “ohooo”.

Then the story started and putting aside my dislike for Mr. Craig’s it was really really good! At first I thought it was like every other horrorish movies and that I’ve ruined it by watching the trailer which gives away the plot -trailers reveal too much now a days- but to my surprise what the trailer has revealed and what I thought I had worked out was only the beginning.

You can feel the man’s happiness and bliss when he moves into a new house in the suburbs and out of the city. His daughters are so cute. His wife is renovating the place and he is writing his novel. A happy family. Then the threats and the bizarre happenings begins and you feel the man’s pain while he is trying to protect his family from harm. Its all he is got, his wife and those two lovely daughters.

In the end you really have to keep your tears down. Now this should have been a Denzel movie! If Denzel had acted in it I would have booked 4 shows one after the other and watched it again and again and again. Daniel Craig was fine though. Movie is still good. Definitely going on my DVD shelf when its out!

Book Review: Steve Jobs by Walter Issacson

By | November 13, 2011

On the first Friday of the past long holiday I dropped my husband off at the airport then went into That Al-Salasil bookstore and got me a copy of Steve Job’s just published biography. Although I have about a hundred Read more »

Movie Review: Real Steel

By | October 23, 2011

I want a robot :'(

I’ve always wanted one! I took four classes of Artificial Intelligence back in college, two were grad school classes, yet I still can’t build my own robot. Abi robot :'(

I’ve been wanting to watch Real Steel for so long but there was always something coming up. Last weekend I finally had the chance to watch it and it was so good I would watch it again and again in a heartbeat!

Its like a modern Rocky movie! Rocky being my favorite movie series of all time by the way. This movie was like a mix of Rocky d five when Rocky had to start paying attention to his son and Rocky four’s final fight between Rocky and Ivan Drago, only the fighters are robots which also reminded me of the lovely old cartoon sanshero! Its like Rocky using Jumaro to fight! Yes that’s it!

Not to mention the story line which is actually funny and entertaining. I don’t know why but up till the beginning of the movie I believe the actor was going to be Robert Downy Jr. but it turned out to be Hugh Jackman, even better!

Very good movie. I hope they make a sequel! In fact Butootee and I started thinking about the sequel story right after we got out of the movie: someone coming to claim the robot Atom as his and shining light on its origins or something. Keifna alafna :p

Highly recommended and definetly goining into my DVD collection once its out. I repeat: HIGHLY RECOMMENDED even if you are not a boxing sports fan.